Skip to content

Watch Out for a Cow in the Road

August 14, 2011

Cattle Can Ruin Your Drive

So on the way home from work yesterday, I was cruising along Indiana State Road 5, heading south.  Just a couple of miles north of Wilmot, I noticed movement on the road ahead.  Now, Indiana 5 is known as a deer infested highway.  So, I slowed, and prepared myself.

But I wasn’t prepared to see a calf in the road.  And a nice red calf was EXACTLY what I saw.  The red calf was in the northbound lane, and I was southbound, going about 10.  As I got alongside it, the youngster, weighing about 400 pounds, bolted off into the cornfield on the east side of the road.

Jeez, I thought, someone has gone ahead and lost their baby.  And they will have a very hard time finding it if it stays in the corn.  And motorists north of Wilmot had better be on the alert.

A cow in the road, even a small calf, could ruin your weekend.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2011 3:06 pm

    You do have some adventures. We saw three huge Tom’s by the side of the road yesterday. Wouldn’t do the damage that calf would have done, but a car-turkey encounter would not have been good either.

    • Uncle Milton permalink*
      August 18, 2011 1:47 am

      I am pretty sure I disagree. Hitting a turkey with your pickup truck might result in a nice poultry dinner, as long as one recovers the road kill and processes it properly.

Leave a Reply

