Skip to content

More @ Wintersown

June 29, 2011

Greetings from Bay City…

Greetings dear reader, from an unnamed hotel in Bay City, Michigan.  Through the miracles of modern technology, the View from Bippus can come to you, even though old Uncle Milton is nowhere near Bippus.  Young, and beautiful Missus Milton, a.k.a. Wifey, was kind enough to download photos from the camera, and e-mail them to me, and now I can share them with you.

The first photo shows my Wintersown tomato, pepper and (what was that spice?) other plant, an herb, maybe; immediately after being removed from the south side of the house.  They had sat there all through the spring, and a good deal of the winter, enduring snow, wind, hail, rain, heat, cold and all the other wonderful weather until old Uncle Milton noticed them 5 days into the summer season.

Wintersown seedlings after arriving in the shade

Wintersown Tomatoes after being rescued from the hot sun, shown here in the cool shade

When I peeked under the hood, I figured them all to be *goners*.  But I gave them a real good soaking…and pulled the covers back to let them breathe a little, and after a while they started to come around…
 
 
Above they have started to recover a little; we let them rest and drink in the shade.  Then I gave them another real good soaking and let them rest some more in the shade until nearly sunset.  Then, they were transplanted into a row where some other seeds had failed to germinate.  If these were one dollar plants, then I planted them in two dollar holes.  I dug the holes wide and deep and even cultivated the soil in the bottom of the hole, like I learned from the French Intensive style of gardening.  I planted them right up to the bottom set of leaves, which makes for a whole lot of extra root in the ground.   And then saturated the soil that had filled up my two dollar holes. 
 

And at last glance, they seemed to be thriving in their new home.  Many thanks to my friends at    WWW.WINTERSOWN.ORG  for providing me the free seed. And I will be sharing some of that seed back with wintersown if the plants survive and make it to seed producing age.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

