Skip to content

Love One Another

April 24, 2011

Do Not Be Afraid

Well, it is Easter.  Anniversary of the risen Jesus Christ.

Spent a little time yesterday watching Mel Gibson’s version of “The Passion” and my, oh my, that is one powerful, emotionally gripping story.  Of course what most people remember most about that movie is the Scourging at the Pillar.  Which got me to thinking about my own sins.  Thinking about all the times where I behaved poorly.  And watched (Mel Gibson’s version) of Jesus paying the price for that.

Then came the Math

So, while watching the scourging scene, one (unnamed) passerby made the comment that Mel *Overdid* it.  More thinking.  He was paying the price for my sins.  And your sins.  And the sins of every other human being that has ever lived, or will ever live.  For the twenty-eight thousand now living in Huntington County, Indiana.  For the 300 million now living in the United State.  For all people in the world.  For all that came before, and all that will follow.  Billions of people.  Gazillions of transgressions.

The math became astronomical.  Absurd.  Mel Gibson could not have overstated the suffering.  No way.

And He did this willingly.  Out of love. The same man that told us to Love One Another submitted to such tremendous violence as to turn our heads away from a  TeeWee screen.  Frightening.  But He also told us Do Not Be Afraid.

And so that, I have decided, is to be my own personal choice.  To love others, even those members of the *Ruling Class* that seek to destroy us.  Even to love those savages that would plunder our individual resources to *redistribute* it to those in need.  I shall endeavor to Love my enemies, and be Not Afraid.

I wish you, my dear reader, a blessed and wonderful  Easter Day.  Peace.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 25, 2011 4:28 am

    Wonderful, wonderful blog. Really.

Leave a Reply

