Skip to content

Contests, Cabbages and Cole Slaw

April 15, 2011

KFC coleslaw

Image via Wikipedia

Pull up a chair, dear reader, cuz I am gonna tell you a story.

Contest

I received a nice hand-written letter in the mail a few days back. It came from my father’s sister’s son’s son’s daughter, who is a third grader. It turns out that *cousin* has entered a contest to grow the biggest cabbage.  The contestants grow a cabbage, take a picture of it, send in the picture, and the contestant that has the biggest cabbage wins 1,000 FRN DECLINING IN VALUE SCRIP oops, wins a $1,000 scholarship.  Apparently, the contest deadline occurs shortly before our family reunion in July, so there will be cabbage available.  Nifty.

So my cute, little letter printing *cousin* asked me for a recipe for coleslaw, so she can make some, and bring it to the reunion.  I seem to recall that when they visited here last summer I may have fed them some of my home-grown cabbage and green pepper and onion and carrot cole slaw.  At least that is my story, and I am sticking to it.

So this morning I am noodling on what meat-free menu to prepare for supper, this being a Friday during Lent, and all, and I start to write a reply letter to my dear little *cousin* and the old taste buds start to working, and the recipe begins to manifest itself in my mind’s taste buds, and before you can say “we ain’t got no carrots or green pepper” I find myself at the Owen’s (Kroger) grocery store in Huntington.  I picked up some wild-caught pollock fish, and some broccoli and the aforementioned green bell peppers and carrots and guess what?

We already had the Cabbage

We will be having pollock fish, fresh broccoli and home-made cole slaw for supper tonight.  This recipe is not your typical cole slaw, with all that creamy-mayonaisse like sauce in it.  It is more like a *Cold Salad* which is what *Cole Slaw* translates into, when you use the right combination of German, Polish, Slavic and Russian. Into American.

Here is the Cole Slaw Recipe:

What I like about this recipe is that it is easy, uses stuff we regularly grow, and it lasts for 3 or 4 days once you make it.  And like soup, it gets better with age. So here goes:

INGREDIENTS:

1 large head cabbage, shredded

1 green bell pepper, diced

1 onion, finely diced

1 1/2 large carrots, shredded (um, just so you know, I use two, unless I have the munchies)

1 cup white wine vinegar

1 cup vegetable oil

1 cup white sugar

DIRECTIONS:

1.  Combine the cabbage, bell pepper, onion and carrots.

2.  Whisk together the vinegar, oil and sugar.

3. Pour the blended liquid onto the mixed vegetables and mix well.

4. Cover and refrigerate for 6 to 8 hours (remember I think more is better)

5.  Drain any excess fluid, toss and serve cold.

So, there you have it.  The hardest thing is (for me at least) that 6 to 8 hour waiting period.  You see, I just plain LIKE food, especially the home-grown kind.  And, (shh, don’t tell- I have already *ahem* sampled the goods, and they ARE good) I think you, dear reader, may enjoy this simple, down to earth combination of nature’s bounty as well.  If you try it and you like it, be sure to leave a comment below.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2011 12:58 am

    That looks like a great recipe. I will have to try it!

Trackbacks

  1. Asian Salad | Suburbhomestead's Blog

Leave a Reply

