Skip to content

A Time for Fasting

January 18, 2011

The gastrointestinal tract, also called the di...

Image via Wikipedia

Is this a Good Time to start a Fast?

The idea came upon me this morning, that I should refrain from taking any food.  So I thought, OK- I will run with that.  What can it hurt to skip a few meals?  This seems like a good opportunity to begin a fast.  What are the pro’s and con’s of beginning a fast, I wondered.

Confessions

So, first, let me get this out of the way.  I confess that I didn’t give up coffee.   As I type this, there is a half cup, looking at me from the kitchen table, calling my name.  Other than that, my plan is for water only until this evening.  And then to take some small amount of soup.  This will amount to (approximately I confess) about a 24 hour fast.

With that out of the way…

My stomach just growled its approval of this plan.  What I heard was “Dude, you haven’t fueled me in fourteen hours.  What gives?”  To which I dutifully responded, “not my self discipline, over ample gut.”  This fast shall be a test of my self discipline, a way to demonstrate to myself that I can make a plan, and stick to it.  You, dear reader, will just have to take me at my word.  In my internet research on this subject, it was recommended to start slowly and not establish too long a duration on the first trial.  Some sites even said one meal.  Hah!  Got that under my belt already!

Why,why,why why why?

I have been fighting a bit of a cold, and woke up about 4 this morning.  And the spirit moved me to fast. Why?  I think it will in part allow my digestive system an opportunity to rest.  It may also allow the toxins to clear from my body.  Perhaps it will enhance the prayer experience for me as well.  Throughout history, fasting and prayer have gone together, and are recommended by many.  Perhaps my example will encourage others to give it a try.

I would be interested to know what your experience with fasting is.  More to follow.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

