Skip to content

Time to Give Thanks from Bippus, Indiana

November 24, 2010

The Pilgrims landing on the North American continent

Giving Thanks- What this holiday season is about

Thank you, dear reader, for visiting the View from Bippus blog.  I am thankful for many things, and you spending your time to read my writing is one of them.  The idea came to me that “Thanks-Giving” is not one word, but two; or at least a hyphenated word.

The Pilgrims-where it all began

Pilgrims meeting the native Americans

What were they thinking?  Sharing a great feast with Red Men, praying to the White Man’s God, and just plain old surviving, that first great celebration must have really been something.  The number of Pilgrims that did not survive long enough to celebrate was particularly significant-the *minority* still left alive had plenty to be thankful for.  Just like us.

And in the tradition of the Pilgrims,

I myself have plenty to give thanks for:  my Dear Readers, my lovely wife and children, the five siblings of my wife who will be arriving TODAY (OMG!!!),  and the opportunity to be a steward of a slice of God’s Creation, some really great friends and neighbors who have taught me so much- this list goes on and on and on.  You get the picture?

And so I have a request for you all, my dear readers- as you go about your day tomorrow, and throughout the weekend, take a little time to “Give Thanks”, you know what I am talking about, go to your own little quiet place and get down on your knees and let the thanks flow out of your heart.  Think of all the blessings that you do have, and give thanks.  Think of the Pilgrims only wanting to survive the winter.  Get in the spirit.

Give, Thanks!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

