Skip to content

Time to fly

November 21, 2010

Mallard (Male), Reifel Migratory Bird Sanctuar...

Image via Wikipedia

Most all our ducks, flew the coop

So it must be time to fly.  You might recall, dear reader, that I clipped the flight feathers of most of our *domestic* mallard ducklings.  The intent was to prevent them from departing.  FAIL.  When I came out to collect eggs two evenings back all but four of the mallards were gone.  There were no clumps of feathers  (or other signs of a killing) so I assume they just up and migrated.

Wifey says – “Good…

at least you won’t have to feed all those ducks”.  Maybe she is right, although I remember sitting in the tree stand about a half a mile away, hearing those ducks just quacking up a storm, and thinking how much I love to hear them singing their duck song.  There is just one, a hen duck, that remains.  And she ain’t talking.  I think she is as sad as I am.

From my point of view I have done a service for the waterfowl community, having raised, and now released twenty nine mallards.   I will probably remain melancholy until spring.

Maybe some of those ducks will return, in the spring.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

