Skip to content

Measured by Hand

October 15, 2010
tags:

 

Home Made Chicken Noodle Soup

Image by Offbeat Photography via Flickr

 

Lazy cooks spoil the broth

(Letter of Apology to Wifey)

I am sorry, Dear.

While using the freshest ingredients possible, and the Best Cookbook Evar!, I failed to take those extra few steps to get an approved measuring device, and measured the Thyme in my hand.

In my defense, supper was ready and waiting when you returned home.  The scent of the freshly picked celery, combined with the broth, IMHO created a warm and welcoming environment.  And (in hindsight) you did polish off two bowls of the soup. So maybe there was too much thyme.  ((Herein concludes the Milton apology))

So stinkin what?

I like the feel of herbs in my hand. I like the inexactness even though it is close to what the recipe called for. I liked the CHICKEN NOODLE SOUP that I created yesterday, and I will enjoy the leftovers from it today just as much, if not more.

And since today is leftover meal day, I should have *thyme* to get the barn cleaned out, the housework done, the home work completed, the pool winterization done, and be ready to leave here at zero-three-thirty Saturday morning for the opening day of waterfowl hunting.

As measured by hand.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Wifey permalink
    October 15, 2010 10:15 pm

    OK, I was overreacting on the thyme thingee. But how many cloves did you put in???

Leave a Reply

