Skip to content

The Smell of Earthworms

March 5, 2011

Earthworms mating. Earthworms Mating

Image via Wikipedia

Earthworms, in March?

Well, the temps are up, and the rains are coming down in the Greater Bippus Area (GBA).  Most all of the snow has been melted, although we still have a few piles where I piled it up with the front bucket on the tractor, after the last big snow.  But, and I ain’t kidding here, when I came in from evening egg collection, I swear I smelled the scent of earthworms.

And I hope that is actually the smell of earthworms.  One of my friends in Georgia let me know that she had started to harvest her garden asparagus.  Now asparagus is one of those garden treats that shows up early, but not in early March in Indiana, as far as I now.  But if the earthworms are out and about, well, why not asparagus?

The forecast is for heavy rains tonight and swollen rivers and flood warnings over the weekend.  What do those worms know anyway?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Uncle Milton permalink*
    March 6, 2011 4:59 pm

    Saving habitat in my opinion is a losing battle. Living things die. We ought to strive to increase the amount of habitat available to birds and animals. So a rigorous regimen of adding conifers, evergreens, flowering plants and seed bearers, in strategic locations is what I try to do.

Trackbacks

  1. What are you doing to save the habitat of birds and small animals in your yard (area)? | Taking care of your pet
  2. Washout « View from Bippus

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

